American Literature and Why It Induces Suicidal Thoughts

6 11 2007

Don’t get me wrong, but I love to read and all that junk, but at the same time, being forced to read something from my “ancestors” in the writing biz is horrible.  I know that Stephen King emanates Mr. Poe, but I don’t like King, so what do I have to learn from Poe?  How to write while your drunk, maybe?  Or, how to interpret a glass of gin into a horrible monster out to eat your insides?  Just kidding, but really, that guy’s grip on reality was minimal…maybe even non-existent.  Anyway.  So, at the beginning of the year, we were studying poems centered around death and I sat in the back of the class mumbling under my breath as I tried not to throw my book at the annoying twit who sits three seats in front of me. *grinds teeth* 

My teacher kept trying to get us to respond and tell her what we thought about poems, asking us why they talk about death…. I WILL TELL YOU!! (Since she wouldn’t listen to me in class…)

Humans are obsessed with the unkown.  We chase after it, like we chase our fears, because we fear what we aren’t, what we don’t understand, and what we don’t know.  We don’t understand the afterlife, so we examine and fear death–what happens when we die?  No one knows, so we fear it.  We hold funerals to console the living–the dead don’t care.  They have moved onto wherever, hopefully and I think that if you mourn for them, you are keeping them from their afterlife, or whatever they are going to.

This is why I am going to be cremated and scattered in a forest, so the ground can soak me up… I won’t tell my Catholic grandmother that, she might keel over from a heart attack.  Maybe I should pay attention in class….

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 11 2007
Fluffyfan15

Yup, so it is very interesting, this whole what happens after you die thing. I would like to believe in a heaven, because, frankly, some other culture’s ideas are quite “out there.” But, I really shouldn’t say that, to each his own, right.

6 11 2007
Myles Chandler

being FORCED to read kills reading itself, and makes me not want to read at all

6 11 2007
curbxstomp

Yes, being forced to read does kill it. Like, I have always wanted to read Poe, but could never find anything at the library and then I have to read it for class and suddenly it wasn’t as appealing. Hmm…
curbxstomp

8 11 2007
werewolf grl

Most people fear death, but I really don’t give a flying fart in space about death. For me, death is just another way out of this little blurb of my own personal Hell. when I die, i’ll be happy, because I know that I’ll finaly be abel to do things I can’t do on earth. My father though, wants us to play ‘another one bites the dust’ by Queen at his funeral, and I plan on doing just that.

Leave a Reply

