Difficult Decisions

31 12 2007

I want to stop writing.

I just read something, and it’s wierd because it made me think about my writing–and my age.  I’m half the age of most published writers, and, while that doesn’t discourage me, they have so many more years under their belts.  Most of the writers I know are like in love with their line of work, or flaunt it, but I don’t know any more.

I have a teacher who basically made it clear to me that writing wasn’t going to take me anywhere.  Outside of my essays, which suck because I hate the whole process of writing one, that teacher has not read anything.  I have one teacher who is my favorite, because she doesn’t treat you like some kid, and she realizes that we are going to be the ones who have to change the future.  She knows who she is because she’s the reason I am in love with blogging, and the process of meeting new people. 

So, I guess that’s my difficult decision.  I only want one book published.  It doesn’t have to be a bestseller, it doesn’t even have to sell.  I just want to see a cool cover and a synopsis on the back, with maybe two or three reviews.  I want to see my name looking up at me from the binding of a book on a shelf at Barnes and Noble.  That’s going to be pretty difficult.

Maybe my problem is the lack of a support system.  Ramxpage–it’s not that she doesn’t care, she just doesn’t read.  It took me six months to get her to read a measly 300 page book, which she ended up liking, but she won’t sit down and read my writing because she doesn’t like reading, and I’m fine with that.  She still gives her opinion when I tell her about what’s on my mind concerning my writing, and that’s good enough for me.  A lot of my friends have lots of people read their works, but I had someone steal an idea from me and she was supposedly my best friend, and I’m really wary of sharing my work now.

Plus, my issue with sharing my work is I have a fear of disappointing people, or people hating it.  I guess everyone has to deal with that, and if I want to be published, I have to throw caution to the wind and do whatever I want.

Five minutes to midnight.  That’s a boyslikegirls song, by the way but HAPPY NEW YEAR’S!

Actions

Information

9 responses

1 01 2008
jodirosenberg

Happy New Year!
I hear your frustration. Never let anyone steal your passion or force you to bury your talent. Life will be full of critics, do your best to NOT let them in your head. Critical comments can be your least liked source of strength.
Best of luck with your writing!
Jodi

1 01 2008
Wingedhamham

Happy New Year, mate!
Now, about your dilemma. Yeah, you’re going over a bump on the road. All your life you’re going to have discouragements of all sorts. You know what they say, “If you really love it, then the people shouldn’t bother you.” Bah. Hell yeah it’s going to bother you, and hell yeah it’s going to be hard. Your love for writing is importants Curb, and people have their opinions. That’s it. That’s all they have. You can get a laptop without them. Save up. Get a crappy one or something. Don’t let anyone stop you.
I really want to read your stories but you never really have a hard copy available for me that I could take home or something. I don’t steal ideas. Sometimes, I ask permission to write something similar to their story if I want to take it from a different view. If someone takes my idea, I get pretty pissed too. But I remember my art teacher said, “You should be happy they copied you. That means it was a good idea.” Heh.

~Wingedhamham~

It’s 2008. Cheer up bud.

1 01 2008
tellymaniac

I know where you are coming from. I have the same dilemna. I want to be a writer. My parents don’t even know of this ambition of mine. I fear they will laugh it off. I have no one to share my wokr with. I do have my best friend but the fear of ridicule won’t let me. The only thing that keeps me going is my beleif that I am good enough. Of course there are times when that beleif seems naive and childish. That’s when I think about my favorite success stories. Meg Cabot’s Princess Diaries was rejected 17 times before it was finally published. Agatha Christie was dsylexic. And my favorite quote of all time by Robert Frost –
“Two roads diverged in a wood and I took the one less travelled by and that has made all the difference.”
Kep writing. Don’t loose faith in yourself. Happy New Year!

1 01 2008
curbxstomp

You guys about made me cry. *sniffles* It’s good to know that other people can relate to me. Hamz, you are getting a bunch of my stories when we get to school, and you are going to keep them forever! FOREVER!
love
kaelie

1 01 2008
shields

There is no way I will let you quit writing! I think most people your age feel misunderstood by their parents and other adults, and writers even more so, maybe.

As for being the same age as other writers, your youth is an advantage. It used to always be that adults wrote stories for young people, YA lit, children’s books, etc. But new technologies give people your age a voice.

Don’t neglect that voice!

1 01 2008
Fluffyfan15

Omg! I would love to read your work if you want me to! I don’t write for fun, so I can’t steal your ideas, and I don’t care if it’s unabridged, so you can write anything and show it to me! And, I would never riducule you in a way that would hurt or discourage u, and u know that! So listen to all the kind comments and encouragements u get from ur friends and mentors, and go for it, girl! We all know u can/and will do it, so get published all ready so I can use my Barnes and Noble giftcard!
Loves, Fluffy 🙂

2 01 2008
curbxstomp

Thanks, yall! I agree with you Shields, because it always made me curious as to why all the books for young adults were written by adults. Not that it’s a bad thing, but sometimes they just don’t get it right. Thank you, by the way, Shields, you are one of the first adults who has actually paid any attention to that. 😀 Thanks, fluffy. I wanted to go to B&N with you and hamz this weekend, but unfortunately, y’all have the robotics kick off. Gay.
love
kaelie curbxstomp

2 01 2008
Fluffyfan15

So I assume you’re not going? Sad, but ya got to do what ya got to do. I still loves ya! Maybe we could still go after the kickoff on one of those days… I’ll talk to you about it at school. Ughhh! School…:( Not happy.

2 01 2008
curbxstomp

We’ll see. I have a thing to go to at 7 on Saturday, so we can’t do it then. I might just go myself, so don’t worry about it.
love
kaelie

Leave a Reply

