Fools and Kings

15 01 2008

So, I was thinking about the United States on a general basis.  A few of my friends and I were talking about men and their association with the United States.  Since this country has been founded, the only people to ever take control are old white men.  Don’t you find that slightly ironic?  All this stuff about diversity and embracing the new in this country and one type of person can rule us.  But, the purpose of the title is a modern event and this question has been bothering me.  I have heard quite a few people call Bush a fool.  In this democratic society, where we choose the leaders, who is the fool: the king or the people who elected him?

Just some food for thought.  I am taking a little time out of the hour or so I have to work on my novel before my sister gets on to talk to people…Speaking of, I haven’t called Ramxpage.  I was waiting to see if Daniel had posted anything…still waiting.  But, whatever.  Today was a really good day.  RetroxFab was happy, Ramxpage was…okay–she was acting kind of wierd–and Daniel was happy, too.  So, you know.  Plus, it helped that I passed every single exam.  My lowest grade was a 73, but after that my lowest grade was a 92.  Oh yeah, I’m good. 

Speaking of grades, I have noticed that the norm for a lot of kids is like below average, and they don’t even care.  I mean, I’m not even talking about what won’t get you into college.  It’s more of a self pride thing for me when I am taking a class.  I absolutely do not take a class just to have a ‘freebie’.  I don’t work like that.  I want to make good grades in my classes–not because my parents would ground me if my grades were less than C’s–but because I’ll feel like crap if I don’t.  Everyone in my English class–besides the friends I have in there–doesn’t like me because I am making the highest grade–not a 100 by the way–and I think that’s really annoying.  I pay attention in the classes that I want to do good in.  Not that I don’t want to do good in every class, but if there’s a subject that I don’t really know if I’ll use, I’ll do what I have to in order to pass, but I won’t go out of my way to apply it.

There are…three classes now that I use: Yearbook, which is helping me get over my fear of talking to people I do not know, English, because it really is so helpful to study others’ writing, and Film Criticism, because I am a movie buff, and I can use that outside the classroom.  When I watch movies now, I unconciously find myself naming angles and explaining things to my siblings, because movies are like literature for the eyes.  They have their own system of tricks.  Where writers have hyperboles and alliteration and metaphors, directors have angles, shots, movement, color symbolism.  It’s great.

Music at the moment is “Your Song”, sung by Ewan Macgregor.  Yes, Moulin Rouge has taken over my life.  Pretty sad. 

Actions

Information

10 responses

15 01 2008
kooldanny

ha see commented and im really truly sorry that moulin rouge has taken over your life that is a fate i wouldn’t wish upon my greatest enemy!! well maybe miss ward but shes the anti christ. oh well…. im always happy so glad you noticed ;-)as for the irony you see in the government as democratic government or whatever i can truly honestly tell you that i hate every single presdent because each and everyone of them has made mistakes no president is perfect it just depends if people notice one president’s mistakes more than the other which determines if one is better than the other and as president Reagan said democracy is the worst best government…. i did comment back and i love you lots and i think we should go to the bahamas for our honeymoon that way I get to see you in a bathing suit….YUM!!

16 01 2008
curbxstomp

Not yum, ick! Bahamas? I don’t know… thank you for commenting back. Talk to you later.
Love
Kaelie

16 01 2008
Wingedhamham

I agree with kooldanny. However! The first time people elected Bush, they were electing him for his words. He was only as good as his speeches (which he probably didn’t right). And as we all know, “Actions speak louder than words!” But your point does prove to be valid on his re-election. If he messed up already, why chance another mistake?
I know what you mean about the grades and stuffs. It’s crazy how some people just don’t care! How do you NOT care?? I donno…this is coming from an Azn so I don’t know if it counts 😛

~Wingedhamham~

(>^-^)> <(^-^^-^)> ZOMFG DANCING KIRBYS!!

16 01 2008
curbxstomp

Your dancing kirbys can suck my…
I have to pee.
love
kaelie

16 01 2008
Fluffyfan15

WWWWWOOOOOOOOoWWWWWWWWW, woowoowowoowowow. Hamms, you so silly! Lol, anyway, I must agree w/ you curb, president situations are never really a win for anyone. The ones who elect stupid presidents get blamed, and the ones who didn’t elect the president must deal with the repurcussions. I do loathe the way our country does things sometimes, not the democracy part, but how we use and make use of the democracy, if that makes sense. And btw, the Bahamas would not be for you honneyboo, you’d lose your vamp tan. Hehe, jk. I’ve been to the Bahamas, and they’re to die for. I’d love to have my honneymoon there.

16 01 2008
Wingedhamham

Psh. Bahamas Bashamas. That’s overrated. Go somehwere cold.

~Wingedhamham~

16 01 2008
kooldanny

i said yum and i meant it you’d be tasty heh and thank you wingedhamham for your input i agree with you that actions do speak louder than words however my point was simply that each president has been ridiculed and degraded for each mistake no body recognizes there achevements. we can thank the press for lack of coverage on all the details of the president. for example president bush is recognized by most americans as the president who screwed up by sending our troops to iraq, now i’m not saying this wasnt a mistake i believe we have no right there but bush also helped stabalzed our crumbling economy from another depresson after the 911 atack yet no one ever recognizes that accomplsh ment they would rather hate him for his mistakes.

16 01 2008
curbxstomp

Why do you guys make fun of my vamp tan, huh? What’s wrong with us?
Love
Kaelie

16 01 2008
Fluffyfan15

Nothin, I just like to agitate you. Just glad I still got my touch…:P

18 01 2008
rachelxrampage

I am like the only one who hasnt comment this. hmmm probably cause i didnt read it! 😛 hahah it is just to long for my smallish brain to handle. k sorry i was being such a bitch at lunch…even though i didnt think i was

later.

Leave a Reply

