The Lost Generation

24 01 2008

At my school, drugs and cigarettes are as common and as well known as text books.  In middle school, pot was like water to most of the guys that I knew.  Before kids learn how to manage their bank accounts, they learn how to roll a blunt or sneak drugs through school without getting caught.

Up until high school, I saw drugs and their users as a pretty big evil.  Now, I’m not so sure.  I’ve never done drugs, never want to.  I’ve had alcohol–not enough to get drunk, but I still wasn’t impressed.  I believe drugs are just someone’s way of dealing with what life throws at them.  Everyone deals with things differently, just as I use my blog and fiction writing to keep my head from going splodey.

A lot of my friends disapprove of the drug circle that I have been in for a long time.  I know they do drugs, but it’s not my job to help them. Most I don’t know well enough to call them a friend.  The ones I do call friends are…It would suffice to say that I’m there for them when they need me.

A few of my formerly disapproving friends now realize that somethings are grey.  After several of my lectures, they understand and I can tell you one phrase I have not heard from them since:
“He’s not good for you.  He does drugs.”  Several of my exes were druggies.  Actually, 95% of them were to be honest.

One thing about drugs bothers me.  The dealers.  A lot of the dealing is between students, but, there are adults somewhere involved in this.  You’re giving drugs to kids to make a living.  It really, really rubs me the wrong way.  I idolize many of the adults in my life.  They do the best they can to help kids, and behind the scenes you have other adults dealing to kids who don’t know what to do with their money.

My mom told me that drug use amongst my friends should bother me.  Before my best friend nearly died, it did bother me, but I never said anything, because I valued our friendship.  I’m glad I did, but I shouldn’t have.  She didn’t love me more than her boyfriend of two weeks, whom I hate.  After she almost died, I shut down all my opinions and at that point, nothing bothered me.  Nothing.

Half of my generation won’t last to graduation.  Dropouts, suicids, you name it, I’ve heard or witnessed almost all of them.

Just some food for thought.  I’ll talk to you later.

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 01 2008
Wingedhamham

*looks down* …I can’t even relate to you, Curb. All my life I’ve been with the goody-goodies. School was a place for work…and that’s all I knew when I got inside. It wasn’t until 7th grade that I really started caring for my friends and got really close.
It is irritating how adults can give drugs to kids and live with themselves. That’s horrible. It’s a mistake that they do it themselves, but passing on that misery isn’t helping. Instead they should be finding ways to aid the kids that ask for the drugs.
I don’t really have an opinion about your drug circle. The only time I’d say something was if you started doing drugs yourself. You say you will never do that, so I’m not worried.
I’m sorry your opinions got shut down. It sounds harsh…
I wish I was your friend for longer. I’m still new to you and I’m not able to understand a lot about your life.

~Wingedhamham~

24 01 2008
curbxstomp

All you want to know, hamz, just ask.
Love
Kaelie

25 01 2008
Fluffyfan15

Yeah, I’m pretty much along the same lines as Hamms, and I have not had much exposure about druggies until I met you. I only mean, I’ve been more aware of people who do drugs and what kind of drug audience there really is in High School. I’ve been sheltered from the realities of drugs except that they are out there, and a huge problem. I never knew how literally close to me they were. High School has showed me that, because before 2nd semester of Freshman year, I was only aware of cigarettes being used conspicuously. But anyway, as Hamms said, I take solace in the fact that you detest drugs and what they do to others. So I can’t say anything about who you hang out with, it’s not my place. I loves you muchly! And your new avatar is really cool too. 😉

25 01 2008
curbxstomp

I love you guys.
Love
curbxstomp

27 01 2008
curbxstomp

Thanks for your words guys. I worry that your other friends don’t like me because they don’t understand that the things I talk about nonchalantly actually bother me to the point where I dwell on them every day. You can say anything about my life, fluffy and hams, if you feel that things are hurting me. Because, I know you wouldn’t do anything just to harm me.
Love,
Kaelie Curbxstomp

27 01 2008
curbxstomp

Hams, about your first comment, I hope that you can never relate to some of the things that have happened to me. If you ever can, let me know, and I’ll take out the people who hurt you.
Love
Kaelie

27 01 2008
Wingedhamham

Thx Curb, but it’s a bit late for that. Besides, we’re gonna get hurt in life no matter what, right? I’ve learned from the experience. But I wouldn’t want you to take out the person. I hope they realize what they’ve done and have felt the guilt.
Now, about relating to you, I do have a friend that got high often. I don’t see him anymore, but he was smart. Book smart. He knew stuff I didn’t know. The thing was, he didn’t try in school and he was a pot head. I hated it when he was high. Yeah it was funny sometimes, but he wasn’t the same and I didn’t like it. I don’t like drugs and I don’t see myself on them any time soon or at all.

Wingedhamham

Leave a Reply

