I’m an American…Is That A Good Thing?

30 01 2008

I am so tired of people telling me about what foreigners say about us.  Because, while it may be true, people love to use stereotypes and generalities.  My French teacher told us that as long as we tried to speak French while in France, we would be okay.  French people don’t expect much from us Americans, she told us. 

Do foreigners really think that?  Even if they do, is it the vast majority, or a small portion, the portion that really only matters to the European economy.

I may be lazy, but I am not so lazy that I sit on my ass all the time and eat.  I’m not obese.  I don’t care that the doctors all say that it’s 2/3 of Americans are overweight.  I am at a healthy, attractive weight if I do say so myself.  Just because I don’t wear a 0 or a 1 does not mean I am fat.  No one has a problem with my weight.  Why should I listen to people who deal in numbers? 

I lost my point there.  What I’m really trying to say is this: I may be American but I’m not anymore lazy than any other kid in this world.  Do kids in other countries sit about with a book and read for hours on end?  YES!!! (And if they don’t, I’m sad for them.  I would die if I didn’t read as much as I do.)  I make good  grades, I’m seriously trying to be fluent in French.  I just don’t want people to judge me based on the rest of the country.  I hate group punishment.   

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 01 2008
kooldanny

i agree im a foreighner and im lazy as hell i mean honestlyi see no difference in lazyness between american kids and foreighn kids we are all lazy so ya….i love kalie

1 02 2008
Wingedhamham

Not all Canadians lived in an igloo.

You have to notice though, kids are getting lazier generation after generation. It’s because the kids say, “Oh, I won’t be so hard on my kid,” when really, that discipline got them to what they are now. I’m going to be hellza strict with my kids. It’s…it’s for the good of the country *smiles like Miss Teen South Carolina* 😀

~Wingedhamham~

Leave a Reply

