I Said I Love You, Isn’t That Enough?

27 02 2008

Just because someone tells you that they love you DOES NOT mean that they do.  Unless they are one of those “Love thy neighbor” types, then maybe, but generally, when an athiest tells you that they love you, they are not doing it because religion dictates it.

I know a few people that expect me to believe everything that comes out of their mouth, including the once sacred phrase of, “I love you.”  I tried explaining to people that I am not naive when it comes to guys, because honestly, I know a guy who will do absolutely anything to get into a girl’s pants.  It’s actually kind of painful to watch–and experience–, but whatever.  When I see the things going on around me, I become wary of the world.

(Like, this weekend, I was watching Law & Order: SVU for a few hours and it kind of made me scared to go outside.)

I don’t believe everything people tell me.  Unless you are a really good friend, teacher, or Rachel Ramxpage, who doesn’t count as a friend anymore–she’s moved to the long lost sister role.  I think people expect “I love you” to make a difference in how you feel about them.  It may make you reciprocate the phrase, if only in words, not feeling.

Which is why I don’t want to get married.  With all the problems you have nowadays.  I would be the girl who believes a guy after years of not trusting guys.  Then, I would get married.  A couple years later, I’d probably pop out a couple of kids and then BAM!  He’s filing for divorce with his pretty new arm piece smiling dumbly at the court hearings. 

Maybe that’s what I fear. Not so much having children, but the part where I get ditched because I’m getting old.  It actually haunts me, that thought.  I had a conversation with one of my friends and he was appalled at me when I asked, “What if no one wants to marry me?”  He then proceeded to tell me that I was too wonderful to go on unmarried for the rest of my life.

Being in love sucks, by the way, I just wanted all of you to know that.  But, the thing is, it only seems to suck for me.  I usually have complicated relationships, and then I just hate the entire male race.

Like I do right now.

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 02 2008
wanderer7

two people who know each other will leave much unspoken

27 02 2008
Ingrid

love is everything

28 02 2008
Fluffyfan15

well, Curb, not to dispute you or anything, but maybe what you’ve experienced isn’t love, but something just shy of it. I don’t know about you, but the way I think about love doesn’t constitute that kind of pain, I mean I know love can hurt but it’s supposed to be wonderful at some point and I think once you find someone you genuinely love, the worry of them leaving you will disappear. I mean, the relationships you’ve been in don’t really sound like love to me, just how I heard them. I may be totally out of my place, but I think you would describe them extremely differently if they were love. Just a thought, but I know someone will want to marry you someday, b/c frankly, you are an amazing thoughtful beautiful person and someone is going to see that just for what it is someday. And believe me, once they do, they’ll never want to let you go. You may not find them the first time, and that is where your fears will come true, but eventually you will, that’s what I believe. Just my view of things, Curb, hope it makes sense.

Love, Fluffy 🙂

28 02 2008
curbxstomp

Damn, talk about putting my relationships into a nutshell…

Leave a Reply

