I’m Everything You Hate

24 03 2008

I haven’t had much to write about these last few days…weeks…but I was reading a magazine that I got as a requirement, and it made me think.  One or two stories in particular.  April’s edition of Glamour was what I picked up (along with Blender and Elle, the latter has Natalie Portman on the cover and she is GORGEOUS) and I just finished reading through it.  So, now I can tell you about the articles that made me think.

Article Numero Une:  “Single Female Seeks Baby, Now!”
Open Diary article by Jessica Queller, writer for show Gossip Girl

It starts off with a story of how her mother died of ovarian cancer after defeated breast cancer.  This prompts her to get a mastectomy (breast removal) and then a reconstruction.  Both of these topics lead to her “baby-making” plans as she calls them.  PGD (preimplantation genetic diagonsis) is one of her first thoughts, to make sure her babies won’t have the risk for ovarian cancer and breast cancer, but then her ethics tell her otherwise.  I was reading all of this like, oookay, and then the next part is what hit me really hard.  She ends up telling a group that she doesn’t want a boyfriend.  She only wants to find a suitable donor.  Two guys–TWO–offer to be the donor, one actually telling her he’d help raise the kid.  There is a definite awww…factor  there, but then, she turns them both down. 

Searching through some sort of anonymous donor thing, she finds the perfect guy, only to find out, when she was on the verge of purchasing the sperm, that his sperm was no longer available.  She ends up finding another candidate, of course, but after insemination, her pregnancy test was negative.  I was so sad when I read that one pink line showed up.  She wanted a baby so bad, and it didn’t happen.  But, at least she knows that there is definitely one in the near future, right?

I don’t know why, but I had never really thought about having kids that way.  These past few weeks, I have undergone some serious thinking, and some serious changes, and I realize, kids might be a possibility.  I want to experience pregnancy, just like this woman.  She didn’t necessarily want to get narried, but she did want to go through precnancy.  I totally agree with that idea, but it seems lonely to me.  It’s just good to know that you DON’T have to be married to have kids, which has been pounded into my skull with a concrete mallet most of my life.

Article Numero Deux:  “Salma: On Her Lifesaving Work (And Brand-New Baby)”
Interview between Salma Hayek and Eve Ensler, the playwright who brought us the Vagina Monologues

Salma Hayek is very outspoken against any domestic violence, and is very involved in the movement against.  Apparently, she witnessed a lot of it, and being a strong woman, she didn’t stand for it.  A lot of the interview talked about her pregnancy and her new baby, Valentina, but it just made her seem so much stronger.  She’s having a long-distance engagement, raising a baby, performed in the Vagina Monologues, and participates in a movement against domestic violence.  Not to mention she’s gorgeously curvy.

This article was just very motivating.  I’ve had relationship issues–and I’m not just talking about boyfriend-wise–but this time I refer specifically to it.  Both of these articles really showed me that you don’t necessarily need someone to make you whole.  Someone else can make you feel better, but all your self-satisfaction has to come from yourself, because you really do count.

I did a lot of reflecting today, especially after that first article.  I just want to show the world and be like, “SEE!? YOU WERE WRONG! I DON’T NEED A GUY TO COMPLETE MY LIFE, THANK YOU VERY MUCH!”  I’m not referring to anyone in specific, but I’m referring to some people out there who constantly moan over the fact that they don’t have a boyfriend.  My advice?  Get over yourself.  You’ll get one soon enough.  For me?  Right now, I’m content to love my friends, my self, my new found independence from the general consensus, and my writing.  Because that’s all that matters, right?

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2008
diane

Glad you’ve come to the realization that you need to be complete in and of yourself. If you find a partner, make sure that he is ALSO a complete person, so that you can challenge each other and grow side by side.

Marriage should be a happy joining of equals. My husband and I have been together for almost 35 years – we spar and rage (occasionally) but our bond is still strong. We’ve changed and grown, but not away from each other.

It is possible, if you are determined enough not to settle but to select.

diane

Leave a Reply

