The Block

28 10 2007

Well, I am ashamed to say that I have writer’s block.

Not just with my fictional writing, but with my personal writing, too.  I have sat at my computer countless times, be it at a Word document or a Write Post page, but I have had nothing to write.  Even  my posts have been weak and pretty uninteresting because I don’t know what to put in and what to keep out–all that internet safety, you know.  But, seriously, I am collaborating with someone on a novel and she is like, “Well, how’s it coming?”  And I’m like…”It’s not.”  It’s horrible!  Ink and paper don’t even work, I have tried, and I really need to know what people do about this because it is completely recurring!  I don’t know what to do!  Even chocolate, my last hope, failed me.  I have officially hit a wall going three hundred friggin’ miles an hour.  I was writing at least four or five pages a day, and that’s really good, because I go to full time school and if I am not paying attention in class, I’ll fail, so I get nothing done during the day and by the time I’m done with my homework and done with phone conversations with Rampage while I’m doing my homework, I have a dinner, and then I have a little over an hour.

Yeah.  I have no idea what to do about that.  I have to go to school, I have no choice.  If I don’t go to school, I’m a truant, and then my parents would kill me, and then I wouldn’t get to go to the governor’s school.  I talk to Rampage while doing my homework so I don’t feel as frustrated while I’m trying to do it.  And this is all if I don’t have a book that I’m reading. Sometimes I am so into a book that I won’t even spare my writing a second thought, and then I feel guilty later.

Another thing: somebody please tell me that your thoughts are so disorganized you have no idea what to put down onto paper sometimes.  I’ll have like thirty ideas running around in my head like little elves in a toy factory.  I am, however, usually only focused on one character at a time, or rather one set of characters.  I have that group of characters, but I cannot decide what to do with them. I mean, I could put them through every scenario, but at the same time, if I do that, I’ll have more scenarios.  It’s like that combination thing.  If Annie has seven shirts, three pairs of jeans, four shoes, and three ribbons, how many different combinations are there?  Now, add seven pairs of jeans, two shoes and nine ribbons, and try to think of the combinations.

Yeah.